Networking

21 Aug

This is the first of my new “Random Thoughts” category of blog posts… and I hope this category will grow as more and more random thoughts are posted.

The first Random Thought is about: Networking

I have been told, I have read and I have experienced the Photography industry as a very competitive industry. But I am surprised, time and time again by how great the “people” behind the competitive photographers are.

You see, we are all driven to fight for our right, our piece of the action, the pie… whatever you want to call it. But if you take the time to sit down with any photographer I am sure you will learn a few new things. About the craft or the business.

I wonder if it is the inherent nature of photographers to learn… to be taught that transcends into a love for teaching as well. Or is it that being a photographer requires you to be a people person and because of that you will always be willing to help someone.

No I am not saying that us Photographers like to reveal everything and show all there is… no… how else are we going to create our style and make a business out of our love for photography and photos? What I am talking about is that when you spend time with photographers, and really pay attention you will pick up or be taught how the industry work and what you can do on a day-to-day basis that will make life a little easier, save you a little bit of time and in the end make your bank manager a little more happy.

So the lesson I have learned and re-learned recently is that nothing can ever be lost by networking and really being a giver as much as a taker from your network.

Very interested to see what the thoughts are about my view of the world and industry… let me know by leaving a comment below.

~J~

One Response to “Networking”

  1. Eddette Steynberg August 22, 2010 at 17:17 #

    Very true – networking is a fabulous, on various levels. Learning something new or simply talking to someone in your position helps.

Comments are closed.

