A new Darkroom

20 Apr

Adobe Lightroom 3

I finally had some time to play around with the new Lightroom 3 over the weekend and I was pleasantly surprised.

I am normally a Photoshop user and this has been my preference since I started digital photography. I normally use Photoshop CS4 in combination with Adobe Bridge to do all my adjustments and enhancements (read editing) and thought its time to see what this new Lightroom is all about.

MY EXPERIMENT:
I loaded or rather imported over 200 photos of a rugby match I took last weekend and started with processing the images from start to finish.
(see my results here)

Normally learning a new program is difficult… everything seems to be in illogical places… But Lightroom is very intuitively laid out. What impressed me the most was the easy way of going from one image to the next while never “opening” and “closing” a photo like Photoshop would require.
That in itself is a time saver!!

Working with the adjustment panel was not too difficult, things are grouped into sensible and expandable sections. Lightroom was very responsive to the adjustments that I made, even when I got a bit more accustomed to using it with the keyboard.

I am a keyboard-shortcut-junky and the one thing that was frustrating was that the keyboard shortcuts in Lightroom (are there any?) are not the same as Photoshop… Or should I (actually) read the manual??

Overall I think Lightroom has a place in my workflow and I will be considering the final release version once it ships end of June 2010… and for now I will enjoy the FREE version that Adobe allows you to download and use called Lightroom 3 Beta 2
(click here to download).

This just shows that when you experiment and look for ways to improve your workflow, you will not only learn a new programme or skill but you will save time which means you can spend more time shooting!!

And if you would like to find out more about how to use Adobe Lightroom 3 head over to these websites:

Photo Training 4 U -phototraining4u.com

Photofocus – photofocus.com

Creative Live – creativelive.com

{Lightroom 3 Beta 2 will expire 30 June 2010 when the final version ships, so download now and try before you buy!!}

~J~

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

